Crafts · DIY · hong kong

Chinese knotting

img_6524

Christmas is coming, santa is coming, got to get my wish list ready!

Since I’m in Hong Kong, I took few lessons in Chinese knotting few years back.
I always thought of it as one of those red diamond shaped thing that Chinese people hang on the door, or in the room.
I totally underestimated how fun it could be!

Once you learn how to do a simple knot, you can be very creative with it.

My christmas ornament is one of my favorite things I’ve made with a STRING!
I used the knot called “Monkey’s fist”, added few extra ribbons and crystals to make it look more for christmas. (These crystals, balls and ribbons, you can find them in Sham Shui Po)

Many instruction videos can be found online on how to make “Monkey’s fist”.

Here are some other things I’ve made.

This is with a very simple knots, made with bamboo handle and two colours of nylon strings.

Coasters in different colours…

If you live in Hong Kong, you can buy these nylon strings in Sham Shui Po.
It comes in many different colours.

Yan Fung Weaving LTD: G/F 164C, Yu Chau St., Sham Shui Po, Kowloon
Tel: 2381 2561, 2380 8137

chinese-knotting-string-samples
When you look for this shop, keep in mind it’s located outside, in between two buildings.

Happy knotting!

5 thoughts on “Chinese knotting

    1. Aww thank you! It’s not too difficult, you should give it a try!
      This has a small glass ball inside, if this knot is too difficult, you can always wrap and glue a string around small ball and make the same thing;)

      Like

Leave a Reply

